Signatories of the Singapore Currency (1967-2013)


In the history of Singapore’s paper currency, post independence up to 2013, there has been seven (7) signatures over four (4) series of banknotes.

The Singapore currency  bears the signature of the Finance Minister from the Orchid, Bird to Ship series. Starting from the Portrait series, the currency bears the signature of the Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Currency, Singapore (BCCS) and after 2002, the Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS).

The seven (7) signatories of Singapore currency, from 1967 to 2013:

  1. Mr Lim Kim San
  2. Dr Goh Keng Swee
  3. Mr Hon Sui Sen
  4. Dr Richard Hu Tsu Tau
  5. Mr Lee Hsien Loong (current Prime Minister)
  6. Mr Goh Chok Tong (Emeritus Senior Minister)
  7. Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam (current Deputy PM & Finance Minister)

Q: Who are the longest serving signatories on our currency?

A: Mr Hon Sui Sen served for 13 years (est.), having his signature printed on the Orchid to the Bird series. Dr Richard Hu served about 16 years (est.), helming the Ship to President Yusof Ishak series.

Q: Who are the shortest serving signatories on our currency?

A: Mr Lim Kim San served from 1965 to 1967 (about 2-3 years), while Dr Goh Keng Swee served from 1967 to 1970 (about 3-4 years). But it could also be Mr Lee Hsien Loong who served as MAS Chairman from 1998 to 2004 and  Finance Minister from 2001 to 2007.

But how could that be since PM Lee was MAS Chairman and Finance Minister up to 2007?

If you wish to know more, look out for my next blog post :-)

Sign 1 Orchid100 LKS

 Orchid Series $100, signed by Finance Minister LKS.

Sign 2 Bird20 HSS

Bird Series $20, signed by Finance Minister HSS.
Sign 3 Ship02 HTT

 Ship Series $2, signed by Finance Minister HTT.

Sign 3 Ship100 HTT

  Ship Series $100, signed by Finance Minister HTT.
Sign 4 Ishak05 HTT

 Portrait Series $5, signed by Chairman BCCS, HTT.

Sign 6 Port50 Tharman

Portrait Series $50, signed by MAS Chairman, Tharman.

在新加坡的纸币历史里,独立后至二零一三年 (2013),在四(4)个纸币系列里有七(7)个签名。新加坡纸币开始都带有财政部长的签名。从兰花系列,鸟系列到船舶系列,都是这样。



  1. 林金山先生
  2. 吴庆瑞博士
  3. 韩瑞生先生
  4. 胡赐道博士
  5. 李显龙先生 (现任总理)
  6. 吴作栋先生(荣誉国务资政)
  7. 尚达曼先生(现任副总理兼财长)








by Russell Cheong

owner & author of

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>